Skip to main content

Sustainable Carolina Professional Staff

Sustainable Carolina staff is housed within the UNC Institute for the Environment. The team links strategic visions outlined by the Carolina Sustainability Council with schools, departments and offices across campus. Professional staff analyzes data, conducts feasibility studies, reports on campus projects, develops sustainability messaging and interacts with the community.

Mike Piehler

Chief Sustainability Officer; Director, Sustainable Carolina
mpiehler@email.unc.edu

Abigail Brewer

Communications and Engagement Specialist
Abigail.Brewer@unc.edu

Melanie Elliott

Sustainability Analyst
melaniee@unc.edu

Cindy Shea

Sustainability Director
cpshea@fac.unc.edu

Langley Smith

Sustainability Program Specialist
langleys@unc.edu

Carolina Sustainability Council

The Carolina Sustainability Council advises the chancellor and his cabinet on sustainability strategy within the Carolina Next: Innovations for Public Good framework. The Council includes students, faculty and staff. These members bring a broad range of expertise, experience and perspectives from across the University.

Council meetings are shared on the University’s Open Meetings Calendar and listed on our events page. Meetings are streamed through the UNC Institute for the Environment’s Youtube channel.

Council Roster 2022 – 2023

Mike Piehler

Chief Sustainability Officer; Director, Sustainable Carolina
mpiehler@email.unc.edu

Ileana Fenwick

Doctoral Candidate

Anthony Buckley

Undergraduate Student Representative
anthont@ad.unc.edu

Margot Francini

Undergraduate Student Representative
mfrancini@unc.edu

Elizabeth Havice

Professor, Department of Geography, College of Arts & Sciences
havice@email.unc.edu

Nikhil Kaza

Associate Professor, Department of City and Regional Planning and Environment, Ecology and Energy Program, College of Arts & Sciences
nkaza@unc.edu

Jeff Mittlestadt

Professor of the Practice of Strategy and Entrepreneurship; Executive Director of the Ackerman Center for Excellence in Sustainability
Jeffrey_Mittelstadt@kenan-flagler.unc.edu

Jonas Monast

C. Boyden Gray Distinguished Fellow; Assistant Professor and Director of the Center on Climate, Energy, Environment & Economics (CE3)
jmonast@email.unc.edu

Natalie Murdock

North Carolina State Senator
Natalie.Murdock@ncleg.gov

Erin Riggs

Executive Director, Environmental Finance Center
riggs@sog.unc.edu

Aaron Salzberg

Director, The Water Institute at UNC; Jennifer and Don Holzworth Distinguished Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering
salzbergaa@unc.edu

Jash Sangani

Co-Chair, Renewable Energy Special Projects Committee (RESPC)
jsangani@unc.edu

Julie Jacobson Vann

Clinical Associate Professor, UNC School of Nursing
jvann@email.unc.edu

Previous Council Members

Jacob Crawford

Undergraduate Student Representative

Ella Feathers

Undergraduate Student Representative
ellasavv@email.unc.edu

Mary-Catherine (MC) Gray

Undergraduate Student Representative

Diamond Hollomon

Graduate Student Representative

Ideliya Khismatova

Undergraduate Student Representative

Nathaniel Maniatis

Undergraduate Student Representative

Asia Mieczkowska

Interim Chief Operations Officer, RENCI
jomiecz@renci.org

Council Minutes